Code Q&A

Code Q&A

Mike Holt, an NEC expert, answers EC&M readers' questions on the Code. EC&M is a technical authority for 145,000 electrical professionals.


When you find yourself stumped by the Code, just e-mail your question to [email protected] or visit www.mikeholt.com. Your question and Mike's answer may be posted in a future Code Q&A column.

Q. Is an equipment grounding (bonding) conductor installed in a metal raceway required to be bonded to the metal box if all the circuit conductors are pulled through the box without splice or termination?

A. No. The equipment grounding (bonding) conductor is not required to terminate to the metal box, unless the circuit conductors are spliced within the box, or terminated on equipment within the box (250.148).

Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish