Cooper Lighting Announces Winners of SOURCE Awards

32nd annual national lighting design competition winners announced at Lightfair International

Cooper Lighting, Peachtree City, Ga.,has announced the winners of the 32nd Annual SOURCE Awards national lighting design competition. Seven professional awards and six student awards were presented.

Top honors in the Professional Commercial Category went to Sean O'Connor and Martha Lopacki of Sean O'Connor Lighting, Beverly Hills, Calif., for the lighting of AT&T Experience prototype stores (multiple locations). In addition, the design team of Robert H. Singer and Kim Slivka of Robert Singer & Associates, Basalt, Colo., won in the Professional Residential Category for the Watson Divide Residence in Snowmass, Colo. Robert H. Singer was also presented with an Honorable Mention award in the Professional Commercial Category for the lighting design of the Vessel nightclub located in San Francisco.

One additional Honorable Mention award was presented in the Professional Residential Category to Andrew Beldecos of Andrew Beldecos Lighting Design, Marietta, Ga., for the lighting of the City Condo Penthouse. Three Award of Recognition honors were presented and included two Commercial Category projects: Lynn M. Surdock and Amy B. Zeboor of WPF Engineering, Belmont, Mich., were honored for the Rockford Public School Lighting Upgrade in Rockford, Mich., and Robert Daniels of Brilliant Lighting Design, Miami, for the exterior of the Crown Lighting of Blue/Green Diamond Condominiums in Miami Beach, Fla. Steven L. Klein of Klein Lighting, Milwaukee, also was awarded an Award of Recognition for the Palm Desert Residence in Palm Desert, Calif., in the Professional Residential Category.

In the student category, Emily M. Myers from Washington State University Interdisciplinary Design Institute, Spokane, Wash., picked up the winning honor for her conceptual lighting design project, Spa Six. Honorable Mention awards were presented to Natalie Goldsmith of Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, Va., for Wegmans Supermarket Corporate Office project and Rebecca Marie Scott of Washington State University Interdisciplinary Design Institute for her project, Clarity Spa. In addition, Goldsmith was given a Sustainability Award for her project.

Students presented with an Award of Recognition include: Louisiana Tech University, Ruston, La., student Erin M. Browning for her Kabuki Japanese Theater project; Stephanie Ploof, from Washington State University, for her lighting design of the Thermae Spa; and Katie Gall and Heather Wise from Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kan., for their Cornerstone Family Counseling project.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.