key_factors_composite_rev1

Improving Performance of Rotating Equipment Using Vibration Monitoring

Key factors for establishing an effective vibration-based machine condition monitoring program

Date: March 6, 2024
Time:
11:00 AM EST / 10:00 AM CST / 8:00 AM PST / 3:00 PM GMT
Duration: 1 Hour

Register Today!

Already registered? Please click here  to log in!

A certificate of attendance will be offered.

Summary

Vibration monitoring and analysis are a cornerstone for determining the condition of rotating equipment. But of all the common testing technologies available (ultrasound, infrared, electric motor circuit analysis, oil analysis), vibration is the most technically demanding. Industries that employ rotating machinery rely on machine condition monitoring to help make their operations efficient and profitable.

In this webinar, attendees will learn the key factors that can make or break a vibration monitoring and analysis program, including:

  • Data acquisition — walk-around data collection, permanent transducers, wired, wireless.
  • Machine operating concerns — variable speed, load, temperature, seasonal.
  • Setting vibration alert and alarm conditions.
  • Making the in-house vs. service contractor decision.
  • Technical analysis expertise.
  • Program evaluation and revision — tracking results.

Attendees will come away from this webinar with the basic vibration terminology to communicate program needs, operation, and results; the ability to evaluate if a machine is a good candidate for vibration-based condition monitoring; an understanding of the advantages and disadvantages of various monitoring methods; and an appreciation for the depth and dimensions of technical expertise required for success.


Speaker

Gene Vogel
Pump and Vibration Specialist
EASA


Eugene Vogel is a pump and vibration specialist with the Electrical Apparatus Service Association (EASA). Before joining EASA, Eugene operated his own business, General Maintenance Equipment Engineering, Inc., which is a marketing service and training organization for industrial maintenance and related technologies. He also has an extensive background in vibration and dynamic balancing and chaired the St. Louis chapter of the Vibration Institute from 1993 to 2000.

Voice your opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of EC&M, create an account today!

Latest in Members Only

ID 6169255 © Brian Walters | Dreamstime.com
Photo 29634968 © Phase4photography | Dreamstime.com
Moving Violations Video No